The President’s Committee on Diversity Affairs (PCDA) includes three faculty members appointed by Faculty Governance, five student members (2 on the steering committee and at least one on each subcommittee) appointed by the Lawrence University Community Council (LUCC/CODA),  the Dean of Spiritual and Religious Life, the Assistant Dean of Students for Diversity, the Associate Dean for Wellness, the Director of International Student Support Services, the Dean of Academic Success, the Director of Accessibility and Academic Skills Services, the Director of ESL, a representative from gender and ethnic studies, the HR Director, and three representatives each from the divisions of  Finance and Administration and Enrollment and Communications and one rep from office of the VP for Student Life. Additional members of the Lawrence community will be asked to help in specific ways related to their expertise such as serving on subcommittees or facilitating various events. Subcommittee members are not required to serve on the official steering committee. The Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion serves as the chair of the PCDA steering committee.


The purpose of the President’s Committee on Diversity Affairs is to foster diversity in the Lawrence community and curriculum and to help create a more inclusive campus community. Diversity brings us into contact with different experiences and perspectives, helping us to question our beliefs and assumptions.  An inclusive community, one that welcomes people of all backgrounds, experiences, and identities (or expressions of identity), is necessary for diversity to serve as a catalyst for learning.  Lawrence seeks to include people of all nationalities, ethnicities, gender identities, sexual orientations, socioeconomic statuses, cultural backgrounds, religions, abilities or disabilities, ages, military/veteran status, and others who bring varied perspectives to campus.

To accomplish its purpose, the President’s Committee on Diversity Affairs will strive to promote in the Lawrence community:

  • a campus demographic reflective of the U.S. and world’s pluralistic society;
  • an environment conducive to attracting and retaining students, faculty, and staff of historically underrepresented groups;
  • a curriculum that considers diversity and its implications for contemporary life;
  • a co-curricular program that fosters inclusion and celebrates diversity; and
  • a climate of respect for different identities and points of view.

To these ends, the committee will:

  1. advise the president on matters relating to diversity and inclusion;
  2. promote faculty and staff engagement in the recruitment, selection, and retention of historically underrepresented students, faculty, and staff;
  3. strengthen mentoring and support to:
    1. guide diverse faculty through successful reappointment and tenure;
    2. promote the development of diverse staff;
    3. foster the engagement and academic success of diverse students.
  4. identify opportunities to integrate attention to diversity into academic and co-curricular programs;
  5. raise awareness of the inequity and challenges faced by historically marginalized groups at Lawrence, in the Appleton area, in the U.S., and globally;
  6. increase cross-cultural competency by sharing educational resources and sponsoring workshops, symposia, or events on themes related to diversity.

PCDA Members (2021-22)

  • Celia Barnes (Associate Professor of English)
  • Brittany Bell (Associate Dean for Diversity, Engagement and Student Leadership)
  • Brianna Bernard (Senior Lead Campus Safety Officer)
  • Kelsi J. Bryant (LUCC President)
  • Abhishek Chakraborty (Assistant Professor of Statistics)
  • Allison Vetter (Title IX Coordinator)
  • Cassie Curry (Director of Major & Planned Giving)
  • Jaime Gonzalez (Assistant Director of Admissions & Director of Transfer and Transition)
  • Tina Harrig (Director of Human Resources)
  • Rich Jazdzewski (Associate Dean of Students for Wellness Services)
  • Edmund Kern (Associate Professor of History)
  • Eric Mayes (Vice President of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion)
  • Andrew McSorley (Reference and Digital Liberal Arts Librarian)
  • Leah McSorley (Associate Dean of Students for International Student Services)
  • Joanna Morey (Accessibility Services and Academic Skills Specialist)
  • Ariela Rosa (Associate Director of Corporate, Foundation, and Sponsored Research Support)
  • Kim Falkenhagen (Interim Director of Athletics)
  • Terra Winston (Associate Dean of Spiritual and Religious Life)
  • Laura Zuege (Assistant Director of Financial Aid)
  • PaNhia Vang (CODA Representative)